Steering Committee

The steering committee will advise and oversee projects of the network.

Current Steering Committee

Jennifer Tourville
Jennifer Tourville, DNP
Executive Director, SMART Initiative
Tiffany Carpenter
Tiffany Carpenter, MBA
UT System Vice President for Communications and Marketing
Robert Pack
Robert Pack, PhD, MPH
Professor of Community and Behavioral Health, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Public Health at East Tennessee State University, Director of the ETSU Addiction Science Center and Co-Director of the Opioids Research Consortium of Central Appalachia (the ORCCA)
Duane Slone
Hon. Duane Slone
4th Judicial District Circuit Court Judge, State of TN
Stephen Loyd
Stephen Loyd, MD
Chief Medical Office, Cedar Recovery
Vice President, Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners
Chair, Tennessee Opioid Abatement Council
Herb Byrd
Herb Byrd, PhD
UT System Vice President, Institute for Public Service
Karen Pershing
Karen Pershing, MPH, CPS II
Executive Director, Metro Drug Coalition
Carole Myers
Carole R. Myers, PhD, RN, FAAN
UT Knoxville College of Nursing Professor and Public Health Professor
Paul Trivette
Paul Trivette
Chief Strategy Officer, Cedar Recovery, LLC.
Brian Winbigler
Brian Winbigler, PharmD, MBA
Assistant Professor, UT Health Science Center, College of Pharmacy, Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science
Kelly Moore, PhD
Kelly Moore, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, East TN State University
Rick Dierenfeldt, PhD
Rick Dierenfeldt, PhD
Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice and Internship Coordinator, University of TN at Chattanooga
Rick Dierenfeldt, PhD
Jeremy Kourvelas, MPH
Substance Use Program Coordinator, UT Institute for Public Service, SMART Initiative
Katie Cahill
Katie Cahill
Associate Director, Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy; Director, Leadership and Governance Policy Program; Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science (adjuct)

Previous Contributors

Robert Williams, PhD
Chair and Professor, Department of Genetics, Genomics, and Informatics UT Health Science Center

Alex M. Dopico, M.D., Ph.D.
Harriet S. Van Vleet Chair of Excellence and Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Addiction Science and Toxicology, College of Medicine, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Carla Saunders, DNP
Neonatal Nurse Practitioner, Regional Neonatal Associates